The First U.S. Spacewalk - Gemini 4


Ed White made the United States' first spacewalk on 3 June 1965 during the Gemini 4 mission. The extra-vehicular activity (EVA) started at 19:45 UT (3:45 p.m. EDT) on the third orbit when White opened his hatch and used the hand-held manuevering oxygen-jet gun to push himself out of the capsule. The EVA started over the Pacific Ocean near Hawaii and lasted 23 minutes, ending over the Gulf of Mexico. Initially, White propelled himself to the end of the 8 meter tether and back to the spacecraft three times using the hand-held gun. After the first three minutes the fuel ran out and White manuevered by twisting his body and pulling on the tether. The photographs were taken by commander James McDivitt.


Gemini 4 Spacewalk

19:45 UT (3:45 p.m. EDT)

The first photograph of the EVA as Ed White backs away from the Gemini spacecraft over the Pacific Ocean northeast of Hawaii.

(NASA photo ID S65-30431)

High Resolution JPEG Version (3.6 Mb)

High Resolution TIFF Version (7.2 Mb)


Gemini 4 Spacewalk

19:49 UT (3:49 p.m. EDT)

This photograph was taken early in the EVA over a cloud-covered Pacific Ocean. The maneuvering gun is visible in White's right hand.

(NASA photo ID S65-30427)

High Resolution JPEG Version (3.1 Mb)

High Resolution TIFF Version (4.6 Mb)


Gemini 4 Spacewalk

19:52 UT (3:52 p.m. EDT)

Ed White in space as Gemini 4 passes over southern California.

(NASA photo ID S65-30430)

High Resolution JPEG Version (2.1 Mb)

High Resolution TIFF Version (2.5 Mb)


Gemini 4 Spacewalk

19:54 UT (3:54 p.m. EDT)

Over New Mexico

(NASA photo ID S65-30433)

High Resolution JPEG Version (2.8 Mb)

High Resolution TIFF Version (2.8 Mb)


Gemini 4 Spacewalk

19:54 UT (3:54 p.m. EDT)

Over New Mexico

(NASA photo ID S65-34635)

High Resolution JPEG Version (1.0 Mb)

High Resolution TIFF Version (1.1 Mb)


Gemini 4 Spacewalk

19:55 UT (3:55 p.m. EDT)

Over El Paso, Texas

(NASA photo ID S65-30428)

High Resolution JPEG Version (2.5 Mb)

High Resolution TIFF Version (2.5 Mb)


Gemini 4 Spacewalk

19:59 UT (3:59 p.m. EDT)

Over the Gulf of Mexico

(NASA photo ID S65-30429)

High Resolution JPEG Version (2.2 Mb)

High Resolution TIFF Version (2.6 Mb)


Gemini 4 Spacewalk

19:59 UT (3:59 p.m. EDT)

Over the Gulf of Mexico

(NASA photo ID S65-30432)

High Resolution JPEG Version (2.9 Mb)

High Resolution TIFF Version (2.5 Mb)


Gemini 4 Spacewalk

20:00 UT (4:00 p.m. EDT)

Over the Gulf of Mexico

(NASA photo ID S65-34642)

High Resolution JPEG Version (2.4 Mb)

High Resolution TIFF Version (2.5 Mb)


To order hardcopy versions of any of the Gemini images above, contact the NSSDCA Request Office at request@nssdc.gsfc.nasa.gov, (301) 286-6695.

 Gemini 4 home page
 Gemini home page

In memory of Ed White, 14 November 1930 - 27 January 1967.
Passed away in the tragic Apollo 1 fire.


[NASA Logo]
Author/Curator:
Dr. David R. Williams, dave.williams@nasa.gov
NSSDCA, Mail Code 690.1
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Greenbelt, MD 20771
+1-301-286-1258


NASA Official: Ed Grayzeck, edwin.j.grayzeck@nasa.gov
Last Updated: 30 December 2004, DRW