Apollo: Where are they now?


Current locations of the Apollo Command Module Capsules (and Lunar Module crash sites)

The Apollo Command Module Capsules are on display at various sites throughout the U.S. and the world. The Apollo Lunar Modules were deliberately targeted to impact the Moon to provide artificial moonquake sources for seismic experiments. The list below gives the locations of these displays and impacts.

Apollo 6

Command Module
Fernbank Science Center, Atlanta, Georgia

Apollo 7

Command Module
Frontiers of Flight Museum, Dallas, Texas

Apollo 8

Command Module
Chicago Museum of Science and Industry, Chicago, Illinois

Apollo 9

Command Module "Gumdrop"
San Diego Aerospace Museum, San Diego, California

Apollo 10

Command Module "Charlie Brown"
Science Museum, London, England

Lunar Module "Snoopy"
In heliocentric orbit

Apollo 11

Command Module "Columbia"
The National Air and Space Museum, Washington, D.C.

Lunar Module "Eagle"
Jettisoned from the Command Module on 21 July 1969 at 23:41 UT (7:41 PM EDT)
Impact site unknown

Apollo 12

Command Module "Yankee Clipper"
Virginia Air and Space Center, Hampton, Virginia

Lunar Module "Intrepid"
Impacted Moon 20 November 1969 at 22:17:17.7 UT (5:17 PM EST)
3.94 S, 21.20 W

Apollo 13

Command Module "Odyssey"
Kansas Cosmosphere and Space Center, Hutchinson, Kansas
(formerly at Musee de l'Air, Paris, France)

Lunar Module "Aquarius"
Burned up in Earth's atmosphere 17 April 1970

Apollo 14

Command Module "Kitty Hawk"
Astronaut Hall of Fame, Titusville, Florida

Lunar Module "Antares"
Impacted Moon 07 February 1971 at 00:45:25.7 UT (06 February, 7:45 PM EST)
3.42 S, 19.67 W

Apollo 15

Command Module "Endeavor"
USAF Museum, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Dayton, Ohio

Lunar Module "Falcon"
Impacted Moon 03 August 1971 at 03:03:37.0 UT (02 August, 11:03 PM EDT)
26.36 N, 0.25 E

Apollo 16

Command Module "Casper"
U.S. Space and Rocket Center, Huntsville, Alabama

Lunar Module "Orion"
Released 24 April 1972, loss of attitude control made targeted impact impossible.
Impact site unknown

Apollo 17

Command Module "America"
NASA Johnson Space Center, Houston, Texas

Lunar Module "Challenger"
Impacted Moon 15 December 1972 at 06:50:20.8 UT (1:50 AM EST)
19.96 N, 30.50 E

Apollo-Soyuz

Command Module
California Science Center, Los Angeles, California

Skylab 2 / Crew 1

Command Module
Naval Aviation Museum, Pensacola, Florida

Skylab 3 / Crew 2

Command Module
NASA Glenn Research Center, Cleveland, Ohio

Skylab 4 / Crew 3

Command Module
National Air and Space Museum, Washington, D.C.


 Text version of this and other Apollo tables

 Impact Sites of the Apollo LM's and SIVB's
 More details on Apollo lunar landings
[*] Landing Site References - the control network used and more precise coordinates for the landing, ALSEP, and LRRR sites
 Field Guide to American Spacecraft - Other spacecraft locations

 Apollo home page
 Lunar home page
 The Apollo 11 mission - Images, audio clips, and a brief history.


[NASA Logo]
Author/Curator:
Dr. David R. Williams, dave.williams@nasa.gov
NSSDC, Mail Code 690.1
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Greenbelt, MD 20771
+1-301-286-1258


NASA Official: Ed Grayzeck, edwin.j.grayzeck@nasa.gov
Last Updated: 26 March 2013, DRW