NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NASA Space Science Data Coordinated Archive Header

Hot Plasma Composition Experiment (HPCE)

NSSDCA ID: 1984-088A-01

Mission Name: AMPTE/CCE
Principal Investigator:Dr. David M. Klumpar

Description

This instrument consisted of an entrance collimator and retarding potential analyzer, a curved-plate electrostatic energy analyzer, and a combined electrostatic-magnetic mass analyzer in series. The energy range covered was approximately 0 to 17 keV/Q, with a geometric factor ranging from 0.01 to 0.05 sq cm-sr, an energy resolution from 6 to 60%, and an M/Q resolution of 10%. This instrument cleanly separated Li+ and Ba+ tracer ions from the background. It was nearly identical to one flown on DE 1 by the same group of investigators. An additional set of eight spectrometers containing permanent bending magnets and channeltrons measured electrons in eight channels from 50 eV to 25 keV. For more details, see E.G. Shelley et al., IEEE Transactions on Geoscience and Remote Sensing, v. GE-23, p. 241, 1985.

Alternate Names

  • AMPTE-CCE/HPCE
  • HPCE
  • Hot Plasma Composition (HPCE)

Discipline

  • Space Physics: Magnetospheric Studies

Additional Information

Questions and comments about this experiment can be directed to: Coordinated Request and User Support Office

 

Personnel

NameRoleOriginal AffiliationE-mail
Dr. David M. KlumparLead InvestigatorUniversity of Texas, Dallasklump@agena.spasci.com
Dr. Helmut R. RosenbauerOther InvestigatorMax-Planck-Institut fur Aeronomierosenbauer@linmpi.mpg.de
Dr. Gerhard HaerendelOther InvestigatorMax-Planck-Institut fur Extraterrestrische Physikhae@mpe.mpg.de
Prof. Peter X. EberhardtOther InvestigatorUniversitat Berneberhardt@phim.unibe.ch
Dr. Richard G. JohnsonOther InvestigatorOffice of Science and Technology Policy
Prof. Johannes GeissOther InvestigatorUniversitat Berngeiss@issi.unibe.ch
Dr. Richard D. SharpOther InvestigatorLockheed Palo Alto
Dr. David T. YoungOther InvestigatorLos Alamos National Laboratorydyoung@srwi.edu
Prof. Hans R. BalsigerOther InvestigatorUniversitat Bernhans.balsinger@phim.berne.ch
Dr. Arthur G. GhielmettiOther InvestigatorUniversitat Berngmetti@spasci.com
Dr. William K. PetersonOther InvestigatorLockheed Palo Altobill.peterson@lasp.colorado.edu
[USA.gov] NASA Logo - nasa.gov