NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NASA Space Science Data Coordinated Archive Header

Radio Science: Propagation (RS)

NSSDCA ID: 1989-084B-27

Mission Name: Galileo Orbiter
Principal Investigators:Prof. H. Taylor Howard
Principal Investigators:Prof. Von R. Eshleman

Description

The purpose of this experiment was to study the structure of the atmospheres and ionospheres of Jupiter and its satellites. This was accomplished through the use of the radio signals from both the probe and the spinning section of the orbiter.

Alternate Names

  • GalileoOrbiter/RadioScience:Propagation_RS_

Funding Agencies

  • Deutsche Forschunganstalt fuer Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR, nee DFVLR) (Federal Republic of Germany)
  • NASA-Office of Space Science Applications (United States)

Disciplines

  • Planetary Science: Atmospheres
  • Planetary Science: Small Bodies
  • Solar Physics: Radio

Additional Information

Questions and comments about this experiment can be directed to: Dr. Edwin V. Bell, II

 

Personnel

NameRoleOriginal AffiliationE-mail
Prof. H. Taylor HowardGeneral ContactStanford University
Prof. Von R. EshlemanTeam LeaderStanford Universityeshleman@nova.stanford.edu
Prof. H. Taylor HowardTeam LeaderStanford University
Dr. Arvydas J. KlioreTeam MemberNASA Jet Propulsion Laboratoryarvydas.j.kliore@nasa.gov
Mr. Elmer C. TerryTeam MemberStanford University
Dr. Herbert PorscheTeam MemberDeutsche Forschungsenstalt fuer Luft-und Raumfahrt
Dr. Hans E. VollandTeam MemberUniversitat Bonnvolland@astro.uni-bonn.de
Dr. Richard T. WooTeam MemberNASA Jet Propulsion Laboratoryrwoo@mail1.jpl.nasa.gov
Dr. Michael K. BirdTeam MemberUniversitat Bonnmbird@astro.uni-bonn.de
Dr. Gunnar F. LindalTeam MemberNASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Prof. Peter EdenhoferTeam MemberRuhr-Universitat Bochumedh@hf.ruhr-uni-bochum.de
Dr. Martin PaetzoldTeam MemberUniversitat zu Kolnpaetzold@geo.uni-koeln.de

Selected References

  • Howard, H. T., et al., Galileo radio science investigations, Space Sci. Rev., 60, No. 1/4, 565-590, May 1992.
[USA.gov] NASA Logo - nasa.gov