NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NASA Space Science Data Coordinated Archive Header

Clementine Charged Particle Telescope (CPT)

NSSDCA ID: 1994-004A-05

Mission Name: Clementine
Principal Investigator:Dr. Eugene M. Shoemaker

Description

The Charged Particle Telescope (CPT) on Clementine was designed to measure the flux and spectra of energetic protons (3--80 MeV) and electrons (25--500 KeV). The primary goals of the investigation were to: (1) study the interaction of the Earth's magnetotail and interplanetary shocks with the Moon; (2) monitor the solar wind in regions far removed from other spacecraft as part of a multimission coordinated study; and, (3) measure the effects of incident particles on the operating ability of the spacecraft solar cells and other sensors. In order to meet the stringent limit on the mass of the instrument (<1 kg), it was implemented as a single element telescope. The telescope had a 10 degree half-angle field of view. The detector, a silicon surface-barrier type with an area of 100 sq mm and a thickness of 3 mm, was shielded so as to prevent protons below 30 MeV from reaching it from directions other than via the aperture. The aperture was covered by a very thin foil to prevent light impinging on the detector and generating noise. The signal from the detector was broken up into nine channels, the lowest six dedicated to electron detection and the highest three to protons and heavier ions.

Alternate Names

  • CPT
  • Clementine/CPT

Facts in Brief

Mass: 0.21 kg

Funding Agencies

  • Department of Defense-Department of the Navy (United States)
  • NASA-Office of Space Science (United States)

Disciplines

  • Space Physics: Magnetospheric Studies
  • Planetary Science: Fields and Particles
  • Space Physics: Heliospheric Studies

Additional Information

Questions and comments about this experiment can be directed to: Dr. David R. Williams

 

Personnel

NameRoleOriginal AffiliationE-mail
Dr. Paul D. SpudisDeputy Team LeaderLunar and Planetary Institutespudis@lpi.usra.edu
Dr. Daniel N. BakerGeneral ContactNASA Goddard Space Flight Centerdaniel.baker@colorado.edu
Dr. Eugene M. ShoemakerTeam LeaderUS Geological Survey
Prof. Jacques E. BlamontTeam MemberCNRS, Service d'Aeronomie
Mr. Merton E. DaviesTeam MemberRand Corporation
Dr. David E. SmithTeam MemberNASA Goddard Space Flight Centerdavid.e.smith@nasa.gov
Mr. Thomas C. DuxburyTeam MemberNASA Jet Propulsion Laboratorytduxbury@gmu.edu
Dr. Bonnie J. BurattiTeam MemberNASA Jet Propulsion Laboratorybburatti@scn1.jpl.nasa.gov
Dr. Carle M. PietersTeam MemberBrown Universitycarle_pieters@brown.edu
Mr. Charles H. ActonTeam MemberNASA Jet Propulsion Laboratorycacton@mail3.jpl.nasa.gov
Mr. Eric EliasonTeam MemberUS Geological Surveyeeliason@usgs.gov
Dr. Alfred S. McEwenTeam MemberUS Geological Surveymcewen@pirl.lpl.arizona.edu
Dr. Paul G. LuceyTeam MemberUniversity of Hawaiilucey@pgd.hawaii.edu

Selected References

  • Baker, D. N., et al., Charged-particle telescope experiment on Clementine, J. Spacecr. Rockets, 32, No. 6, 1060-1064, doi:10.2514/3.26731, Nov.-Dec. 1995.
[USA.gov] NASA Logo - nasa.gov