NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NASA Space Science Data Coordinated Archive Header

Large Area X-ray Proportional Counter

NSSDCA ID: 1995-074A-02

Mission Name: X-Ray Timing Explorer
Principal Investigators:Dr. Stephen S. Holt
Principal Investigators:Dr. Hale V. Bradt

Description

The Large Area X-ray Proportional Counter (LAPC) provides approximately 1 sq m of net X-ray detector area, in the energy range 2 to 60 keV, for the study of temporal/spectral effects in the X-ray emission from galactic and extragalactic sources.

Alternate Names

  • X-RayTimingExplorer/LargeAreaX-rayProportionalCounter

Funding Agency

  • NASA-Office of Space Science (United States)

Discipline

  • Astronomy: X-Ray

Additional Information

Questions and comments about this experiment can be directed to: Coordinated Request and User Support Office

 

Personnel

NameRoleOriginal AffiliationE-mail
Dr. Jean H. SwankCo-InvestigatorNASA Goddard Space Flight Centerswank@pcasun1.gsfc.nasa.gov
Dr. Francis E. MarshallCo-InvestigatorNASA Goddard Space Flight Centermarshall@rosserv.gsfc.nasa.gov
Dr. Claude R. CanizaresCo-InvestigatorMassachusetts Institute of Technologycrc@space.mit.edu
Dr. Jeffrey E. McClintockCo-InvestigatorMassachusetts Institute of Technologyjeff@cfa.harvard.edu
Dr. Stephen S. HoltPrincipal InvestigatorNASA Goddard Space Flight Centerholt@lheavx.gsfc.nasa.gov
Dr. Hale V. BradtPrincipal InvestigatorMassachusetts Institute of Technologyhale@mit.edu
[USA.gov] NASA Logo - nasa.gov