NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NASA Space Science Data Coordinated Archive Header

Cluster Ion Spectrometry (CIS)

NSSDCA ID: 2000-041B-02

Mission Name: Cluster 2/FM6 (Salsa)
Principal Investigator:Prof. Henri Reme

Description

This instrument (CIS: Cluster Ion Spectrometry) is capable of obtaining full 3D ion distributions with high time resolution (in one spacecraft spin) and mass-per-charge resolution. The experiment consists of two different instruments, a Hot Ion Analyzer (HIA) and a time-of-flight Ion Composition and Distribution Function analyzer (CODIF). Extensive on-board processing is done, within its dual-processor Data Processing System (DPS). CODIF determines the distributions of the major ion species with energies from spacecraft potential to 40 KeV/charge with an angular resolution of 22.5 x 10.25 degrees and with two different sensitivities. The CODIF instrument uses electrostatic deflection to select by energy per charge, with subsequent time-of-flight analysis. The sensor primarily covers the energy range 0.02--40 KeV/charge, but with additional pre-acceleration for energies below 25 eV/charge, the range is extended to energies as low as the spacecraft potential. The HIA does not measure mass, but extends the dynamic range to the highest ion fluxes, and has angular resolution capability of 5.6 x 5.6 degrees for ion-beam and solar-wind measurements. The HIA is a symmetric quadrispherical analyzer of top-hat geometry, and uses microchannel-plate electron multipliers and position encoding by discrete anodes. A 2D distribution is obtained once per 62.5 ms, and a full 3D distribution of ions in the energy range ~5 eV/charge to 32 KeV/charge is obtained every 4 s. For more details of the Cluster mission, the spacecraft, and its instruments, see the report ``Cluster: mission, payload and supporting activities,'' March 1993, ESA SP-1159, and the included article ``The Cluster Ion Spectrometry Experiment,'' by H. Reme et al., from which this information was obtained.

Alternate Names

  • CIS
  • Cluster2-Salsa/CIS

Facts in Brief

Mass: 10.22 kg
Power (avg): 8.6 W
Bit rate (avg): 5.5 kbps

Funding Agency

  • CNRS Centre d'Etudes Spatiales des Rayonnements (France)

Disciplines

  • Space Physics: Zodiacal Light/Interplanet Dust
  • Space Physics: Magnetospheric Studies

Additional Information

Questions and comments about this experiment can be directed to: Dr. Ramona L. Kessel

 

Personnel

NameRoleOriginal AffiliationE-mail
Dr. Charles W. CarlsonCo-InvestigatorUniversity of California, Berkeleycwc@ssl.berkeley.edu
Dr. Dieter K. HovestadtCo-InvestigatorMax-Planck-Institut fur Extraterrestrische Physik
Dr. Helmut R. RosenbauerCo-InvestigatorMax-Planck-Institut fur Aeronomierosenbauer@linmpi.mpg.de
Prof. George K. ParksCo-InvestigatorUniversity of Washingtonparks@geophys.washington.edu
Prof. Robert P. LinCo-InvestigatorUniversity of California, Berkeley
Dr. Vittorio FormisanoCo-InvestigatorConsiglio Nazionale delle Ricercheformisan@nike.ifsi.rm.cnr.it
Dr. Goetz PaschmannCo-InvestigatorMax-Planck-Institut fur Extraterrestrische Physikgep@mpe.mpg.de
Prof. Hans R. BalsigerCo-InvestigatorUniversitat Bernhans.balsinger@phim.berne.ch
Dr. Edward G. ShelleyCo-InvestigatorLockheed Palo Altoshelley@space.lokheed.com
Dr. Axel KorthCo-InvestigatorMax-Planck-Institut fur Aeronomiekorth@linmpi.mpg.de
Dr. Arthur G. GhielmettiCo-InvestigatorLockheed Palo Altogmetti@spasci.com
Mr. David W. CurtisCo-InvestigatorUniversity of California, Berkeleydwc@ssl.berkeley.edu
Prof. Rickard LundinCo-InvestigatorSwedish Institute for Space Physicsrickard.lundin@irf.se
Dr. Jean-Michel BosquedCo-InvestigatorCNRS Centre d'Etudes Spatiale des Rayonments
Dr. Jean-Andre C. SauvaudCo-InvestigatorCNRS Centre d'Etudes Spatiale des Rayonmentssauvaud@cesr.fr
Dr. O. Walter LennartssonCo-InvestigatorLockheed Palo Altolenn@cis.spasci.com
Dr. Berndt KleckerCo-InvestigatorMax-Planck-Institut fur Extraterrestrische Physikbek@mpe.mpg.de
Dr. Istvan SzemereyCo-InvestigatorHungarian Academy of Sciences
Dr. Eberhard S. MoebiusCo-InvestigatorUniversity of New Hampshireeberhard.moebius@unh.edu
Dr. Roberto BrunoCo-InvestigatorConsiglio Nazionale delle Ricercheroberto.bruno@ifsi.rm.cnr.it
Dr. James P. McFaddenCo-InvestigatorUniversity of California, Berkeleymcfadden@ssl.berkeley.edu
Dr. Jannis S. DandourasCo-InvestigatorCNRS Centre d'Etudes Spatiale des Rayonmentsiannis.dandouras@cesr.fr
Dr. Maria Bice Bavassano-CattaneoCo-InvestigatorInstituto di Fisica dello Spazio Interplanetariobice@hp.ifsi.fra.cnr.it
Prof. Lynn M. KistlerCo-InvestigatorUniversity of New Hampshirelynn.kistler@unh.edu
Dr. Michael P. McCarthyCo-InvestigatorUniversity of California, Berkeleymccarthy@u.washington.edu
Prof. Henri RemePrincipal InvestigatorCNRS Centre d'Etudes Spatiale des Rayonmentshenry.reme@cesr.fr

Selected References

  • Reme, H., et al., The Cluster ion spectrometry experiment, in Cluster: Mission, Payload, and Supporting Activities, ESA SP-1159, pp. 133-161, Mar. 1993.
[USA.gov] NASA Logo - nasa.gov