NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NASA Space Science Data Coordinated Archive Header

In-Situ Measurements of Particles and CME Transients (IMPACT)

NSSDCA ID: 2006-047A-03

Mission Name: STEREO A
Principal Investigator:Dr. Janet G. Luhmann

Description

The In-Situ Measurements of Particles and CME Transients (IMPACT) investigation makes observations of plasma electrons, magnetic fields and energetic particles using an array of seven instruments. The Solar Wind Electron Analyzer (SWEA) consists of a boom-mounted hemispherical top-hat electrostatic analyzer and measures the distribution function of solar wind core and halo electrons from below an eV to several keV, with high spectral and angular resolution over virtually the full spherical range. The Suprathermal Electron Telescope (STE) consists of two arrays of silicon semiconductor devices measuring ~2-20 keV electrons. The arrays look in opposite directions with 80 x 80 deg fields of view. MAG is a boom-mounted triaxial fluxgate magnetometer just inboard of the SWEA and STE instruments. The Solar Electron Proton Telescope (SEPT) consists of two dual, double-ended magnet/foil solid state detector particle telescopes that separate and measure directional fluxes of 20-400 keV electrons and 20-7000 keV protons. The Supratherman Ion Telescope (SIT) is a time-of-flight ion mass spectrometer that measures elemental composition of He-Fe ions over the 30-2000 keV/n energy range. The Low Energy Telescope (LET) is a double-fan array of 14 solid state detectors that measures 1.5-13 MeV/n protons and helium ions and 2-30 MeV/n heavier ions. The High Energy Telescope (HET) is a lin ear array of six solid state detectors that measures protons and helium ions up to 100 MeV/n and electrons up to 5 MeV.

Alternate Names

  • IMPACT
  • STEREOA/IMPACT

Funding Agency

  • NASA-Office of Space Science (United States)

Discipline

  • Space Physics: Heliospheric Studies

Additional Information

Questions and comments about this experiment can be directed to: Dr. John F. Cooper

 

Personnel

NameRoleOriginal AffiliationE-mail
Dr. Donald V. ReamesCo-InvestigatorNASA Goddard Space Flight Centerreames@lheavx.gsfc.nasa.gov
Dr. Horst W. KunowCo-InvestigatorUniversitat Kielkunow@kernphysik.uni-kiel.de
Dr. Christopher T. RussellCo-InvestigatorUniversity of California, Los Angelesctrussell@igpp.ucla.edu
Dr. Keith W. OgilvieCo-InvestigatorNASA Goddard Space Flight Centerkeith.w.ogilvie@nasa.gov
Prof. Edward C. Stone, Jr.Co-InvestigatorCalifornia Institute of Technologyecs@srl.caltech.edu
Dr. Glenn M. MasonCo-InvestigatorUniversity of MarylandGlenn.Mason@jhuapl.edu
Prof. Robert P. LinCo-InvestigatorUniversity of California, Berkeley
Dr. Tycho T. Von RosenvingeCo-InvestigatorNASA Goddard Space Flight Centertycho@lheamail.gsfc.nasa.gov
Dr. Trevor R. SandersonCo-InvestigatorESA-European Space Research and Technology Centre
Dr. Mario H. AcunaCo-InvestigatorNASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Dr. Axel KorthCo-InvestigatorMax-Planck-Institut fur Aeronomiekorth@linmpi.mpg.de
Dr. John T. GoslingCo-InvestigatorLos Alamos National Laboratoryjgosling@lanl.gov
Dr. Jean-Louis Henry BougeretCo-InvestigatorObservatoire de Paris, Meudonjean-louis.bougeret@obspm.fr
Dr. Richard A. MewaldtCo-InvestigatorCalifornia Institute of Technologymewaldt@srl.caltech.edu
Dr. Reinhold Mueller-MellinCo-InvestigatorUniversitat Kielmueller-mellin@kernphysik.uni-kiel.de
Dr. Jean-Andre C. SauvaudCo-InvestigatorCNRS Centre d'Etudes Spatiale des Rayonmentssauvaud@cesr.fr
Dr. Tamas I. GombosiCo-InvestigatorUniversity of Michigantamas@engin.umich.edu
Dr. Victor J. PizzoCo-InvestigatorNOAA Space Environment Laboratoryvpizzo@sec.noaa.gov
Dr. Mark E. WiedenbeckCo-InvestigatorNASA Jet Propulsion Laboratorymew@rain.jpl.nasa.gov
Dr. Richard G. MarsdenCo-InvestigatorESA-European Space Research and Technology Centrerichard.marsden@esa.int
Dr. David J. McComasCo-InvestigatorSouthwest Research Institutedmccomas@pppl.gov
Dr. Jannis S. DandourasCo-InvestigatorCNRS Centre d'Etudes Spatiale des Rayonmentsiannis.dandouras@cesr.fr
Dr. Stefano A. LiviCo-InvestigatorMax-Planck-Institut fur Aeronomielivi@linmpi.mpg.de
Dr. Volker BothmerCo-InvestigatorMax-Planck-Institut fur Aeronomiebothmer@linmpi.mpg.de
Dr. Jon LinkerCo-InvestigatorScience Applications International Corplinker@iris023.saic.com
Dr. Philippe LouarnCo-InvestigatorCNRS Centre d'Etudes Spatiale des Rayonmentslouarn@cesr.fr
Dr. Stuart D. BaleCo-InvestigatorUniversity of California, Berkeleybale@ssl.berkeley.edu
Dr. Herbert O. FunstenCo-InvestigatorLos Alamos National Laboratoryhfunsten@lanl.gov
Dr. Karol KecskemetyCo-Investigatorkecske@rmki.kfki.hu
Mr. Davin LarsonCo-InvestigatorUniversity of California, Berkeleydavin@ssl.berkeley.edu
Dr. Chee Keong NgCo-InvestigatorNASA Goddard Space Flight Centercheeng@milkyway.gsfc.nasa.gov
Mr. David W. CurtisExperiment ManagerUniversity of California, Berkeleydwc@ssl.berkeley.edu
Dr. Janet G. LuhmannPrincipal InvestigatorUniversity of California, Berkeleyjgluhman@sunspot.ssl.berkeley.edu
[USA.gov] NASA Logo - nasa.gov