NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NASA Space Science Data Coordinated Archive Header

Stereo/Waves (Swaves)

NSSDCA ID: 2006-047B-02

Mission Name: STEREO B
Principal Investigator:Dr. Jean-Louis Henry Bougeret

Description

The Stereo/Waves (Swaves) experiment is designed to measure remotely and in situ: Type II radio bursts associated with electrons accelerated by CME-driven shocks; Type III radio bursts associated with impulsively accelerated electrons streaming out from the sun; and, in situ plasma waves and waveforms. Two radio receivers measure wave intensity, source direction and angular size in the frequency range 40 kHz-16 MHz, corresponding to heliocentric source distances of about one solar radius to 1 AU. One 10-40 kHz receiver measures radio and plasma waves near the 1 AU electron plasma frequency. One receiver makes high time resolution measurements at 50 MHz. Time domain samplers make simultaneous wideband waveform measurements on three electric components. Antenna systems include three mutually orthogonal 6-m monopoles.

Alternate Names

  • STEREOB/Swaves
  • Swaves

Funding Agency

  • NASA-Office of Space Science (United States)

Disciplines

  • Space Physics: Heliospheric Studies
  • Solar Physics: Radio

Additional Information

Questions and comments about this experiment can be directed to: Dr. John F. Cooper

 

Personnel

NameRoleOriginal AffiliationE-mail
Dr. Joseph FainbergCo-InvestigatorNASA Goddard Space Flight Centerfainberg@gsfc.nasa.gov
Mr. Michael L. KaiserCo-InvestigatorNASA Goddard Space Flight Centermkaiser@pop600.gsfc.nasa.gov
Dr. Paul J. KelloggCo-InvestigatorUniversity of Minnesotakellogg@waves.space.umn.edu
Prof. Robert P. LinCo-InvestigatorUniversity of California, Berkeley
Mr. William KeatingCo-InvestigatorUS Naval Research Laboratory
Dr. Sang HoangCo-InvestigatorObservatoire de Paris, Meudonsang.hoang@obspm.fr
Dr. Alain KerdraonCo-InvestigatorObservatoire de Paris, Meudonalain.kerdraon@obspm.fr
Dr. Janet G. LuhmannCo-InvestigatorUniversity of California, Berkeleyjgluhman@ssl.berkeley.edu
Dr. O. Chris St. CyrCo-InvestigatorNASA Goddard Space Flight Centercstcyr@grace.nascom.nasa.gov
Dr. Robert J. MacDowallCo-InvestigatorNASA Goddard Space Flight Centermacdowall@urap.gsfc.nasa.gov
Dr. Michael J. ReinerCo-InvestigatorNASA Goddard Space Flight Centerreiner@urap.gsfc.nasa.gov
Dr. Iver H. CairnsCo-InvestigatorUniversity of Syndeycairns@physics.usyd.edu.au
Dr. Philippe M. ZarkaCo-InvestigatorObservatoire de Paris, Meudonphilippe.zarka@obspm.fr
Dr. Alain LecacheuxCo-InvestigatorObservatoire de Paris, Meudonalain.lecacheux@obspm.fr
Dr. Stuart D. BaleCo-InvestigatorUniversity of California, Berkeleybale@ssl.berkeley.edu
Dr. Robert E. ErgunCo-InvestigatorUniversity of California, Berkeleyree@fast.colorado.edu
Dr. Milan MaksimovicCo-InvestigatorObservatoire de Paris, Meudonmilan.maksimovic@obspm.fr
Dr. Keith A. GoetzExperiment ManagerUniversity of Minnesotagoetz@umn.edu
Mr. Robert ManningExperiment ManagerObservatoire de Paris, Meudon
Dr. Jean-Louis Henry BougeretPrincipal InvestigatorObservatoire de Paris, Meudonjean-louis.bougeret@obspm.fr
[USA.gov] NASA Logo - nasa.gov