NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NASA Space Science Data Coordinated Archive Header

Radio Science: Propagation (RS)

NSSDC ID: 1989-084B-27
Mission Name: Galileo Orbiter
Principal Investigators: Prof. Von R. Eshleman, Prof. H. Taylor Howard

Description

The purpose of this experiment was to study the structure of the atmospheres and ionospheres of Jupiter and its satellites. This was accomplished through the use of the radio signals from both the probe and the spinning section of the orbiter.

Funding Agencies

  • Deutsche Forschunganstalt fuer Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR, nee DFVLR) (Federal Republic of Germany)
  • NASA-Office of Space Science Applications (United States)

Disciplines

  • Planetary Science: Atmospheres
  • Planetary Science: Small Bodies
  • Solar Physics: Radio

Additional Information

Questions or comments about this experiment can be directed to: Dr. Edwin V. Bell, II.

 

Personnel

NameRoleOriginal AffiliationE-mail
Dr. Arvydas J. KlioreTeam MemberNASA Jet Propulsion Laboratoryarvydas.j.kliore@nasa.gov
Dr. Richard T. WooTeam MemberNASA Jet Propulsion Laboratoryrwoo@mail1.jpl.nasa.gov
Dr. Martin PaetzoldTeam MemberUniversitat zu Kolnpaetzold@geo.uni-koeln.de
Dr. Hans E. VollandTeam MemberUniversitat Bonnvolland@astro.uni-bonn.de
Prof. H. Taylor HowardGeneral ContactStanford University 
Dr. Herbert PorscheTeam MemberDeutsche Forschungsenstalt fuer Luft-und Raumfahrt 
Dr. Gunnar F. LindalTeam MemberNASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory 
Prof. Von R. EshlemanTeam LeaderStanford Universityeshleman@nova.stanford.edu
Dr. Michael K. BirdTeam MemberUniversitat Bonnmbird@astro.uni-bonn.de
Prof. Peter EdenhoferTeam MemberRuhr-Universitat Bochumedh@hf.ruhr-uni-bochum.de
Mr. Elmer C. TerryTeam MemberStanford University 

Selected References

Howard, H. T., et al., Galileo radio science investigations, Space Sci. Rev., 60, No. 1/4, 565-590, May 1992.

[USA.gov] NASA Logo - nasa.gov