NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NASA Space Science Data Coordinated Archive Header

Charge and Mass Magnetospheric Ion Composition Experiment (CAMMICE)

NSSDC ID: 1996-013A-06
Mission Name: Polar
Principal Investigator: Prof. Theodore Allan Fritz

Description

The objectives of this investigation, CAMMICE (charge and mass magnetospheric ion composition experiment), are the unambiguous determination of the composition of the earth's plasma populations, their original sources, and the mechanisms acting to energize and transport these populations within the closely coupled magnetosphere/ionosphere and magnetosphere/solar-wind systems, and in the two major geospace energy storage reservoirs: the near-earth plasma sheet and the ring current. The CAMMICE incorporates two types of sensor systems, MICS and HIT, which each perform a three-parameter measurement on the ion composition over a combined range from <10 keV/Q to 15 MeV/Q for elements from hydrogen through iron. Each of the sensor systems is supported by its own independent data processing unit. These sensors are identical to those flown on the ISTP/EQUATOR spacecraft, although the mountings are different.

Alternate Names

  • CAMMICE

Discipline

  • Space Physics: Magnetospheric Studies

Additional Information

Questions or comments about this experiment can be directed to: Dr. Ramona L. Kessel.

 

Personnel

NameRoleOriginal AffiliationE-mail
Dr. Walther N. SpjeldvikCo-InvestigatorWeber State Universitywspjeldvik@weber.edu
Dr. Michael G. HendersonCo-InvestigatorLos Alamos National Laboratorymghenderson@lanl.gov
Dr. Daniel N. BakerCo-InvestigatorUniversity of Coloradodaniel.baker@colorado.edu
Dr. John M. CornwallCo-InvestigatorUniversity of California, Los Angelescornwall@physics.ucla.edu
Dr. James D. SullivanCo-InvestigatorBoston Universitysullivan@bu.edu
Dr. Harlan E. SpenceCo-InvestigatorBoston Universityspence@buasta.bu.edu
Dr. Shrikanth G. KanekalCo-InvestigatorNASA Goddard Space Flight Centerskanekal@umd.edu
Dr. Christopher H. PerryCo-InvestigatorRutherford Appleton Laboratoryc.h.perry@rl.ac.uk
Dr. Manuel GrandeCo-InvestigatorRutherford Appleton Laboratorym.grande@rl.ac.uk
Dr. Berend WilkenCo-InvestigatorMax-Planck-Institut fur Aeronomie 
Dr. Joseph F. FennellCo-InvestigatorAerospace Corporationjoseph.f.fennell@aero.org
Dr. Donald J. WilliamsCo-InvestigatorApplied Physics Laboratorydonald.williams@jhuapl.edu
Dr. Stefano A. LiviCo-InvestigatorMax-Planck-Institut fur Aeronomielivi@linmpi.mpg.de
Dr. Mark LesterCo-InvestigatorUniversity of Leicestermle@ion.le.ac.uk
Prof. Rickard LundinCo-InvestigatorSwedish Institute for Space Physicsrickard.lundin@irf.se
Dr. James L. RoederCo-InvestigatorAerospace Corporationjames.l.roeder@aero.org
Dr. Geoffrey D. ReevesCo-InvestigatorLos Alamos National Laboratorygdreeves@lanl.gov
Dr. Gerhard KremserCo-InvestigatorMax-Planck-Institut fur Aeronomie 
Dr. Rocky KogaCo-InvestigatorAerospace Corporationrocky.koga@aero.org
Prof. Theodore Allan FritzPrincipal InvestigatorBoston Universityfritz@bu.edu
Dr. Finn SoraasCo-InvestigatorUniversitetet I Bergenfinn.soraas@fi.uib.no
Dr. Iannis A. DaglisCo-InvestigatorNational Observatory of Athensdaglis@space.noa.gr
Dr. Jiasheng ChenCo-InvestigatorBoston Universitychen@buasta.bu.edu
Dr. Michael SchulzCo-InvestigatorAerospace Corporationschulz@agenda.spasci.com
Dr. Lawrence R. LyonsCo-InvestigatorAerospace Corporationlarry@atmos.ucla.edu
Dr. S. Peter GaryCo-InvestigatorLos Alamos National Laboratorypgary@lanl.gov
Dr. Bryan E. LaubscherCo-InvestigatorLos Alamos National Laboratoryblaubsher@lanl.gov
Dr. Patty LewCo-InvestigatorAerospace Corporationpatricia.a.lew@aero.org
Mr. Richard D. BelianCo-InvestigatorLos Alamos National Laboratoryrdbelian@lanl.gov
Dr. Harold WeilCo-InvestigatorH.M. Weil Consultants, Inc, Santa Fe, NM 
Dr. J. Bernard BlakeCo-InvestigatorAerospace Corporationjbernard.blake@aero.org
Dr. Robert B. SheldonCo-InvestigatorBoston Universitysheldonr@uah.edu
Prof. Vytenis M. VasyliunasCo-InvestigatorMax-Planck-Institut fur Aeronomievasyliunas@linmpi.mpg.de
[USA.gov] NASA Logo - nasa.gov