NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NASA Space Science Data Coordinated Archive Header

Soyuz-TMA 20M



The primary objective of the Soyuz TMA-20M mission is to safely deliver and return three crewmembers to and from the ISS: Soyuz Commander Aleksey Ovchinin (Russian Federal Space Agency – RSA), Oleg Skripochka (RSA), and NASA astronaut Jeff Williams. For Expedition 47, Ovchinin, Skripochka, and Williams will serve as Flight Engineers before transferring to Expedition 48 upon the undocking of Soyuz TMA-19M in June 2016. At this point, Williams will serve as Commander of Expedition 48, with Ovchinin and Skripochka continuing to serve as Flight Engineers. In September, Ovchinin, Skripochka, and Williams – after six months on orbit – will board their Soyuz TMA-20M spacecraft, undock from the ISS (ending Expedition 48), and return to Earth.

Alternate Names

    Facts in Brief

    Launch Date: 2016-03-18
    Launch Vehicle: Soyuz FG
    Launch Site: Tyuratam (Baikonur Cosmodrome), Kazakhstan

    Funding Agency

    • Russian Space Agency (Russia)


    • Human Crew

    Additional Information

    Questions and comments about this spacecraft can be directed to: Coordinated Request and User Support Office

    [] NASA Logo -