NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NASA Space Science Data Coordinated Archive Header

Soyuz MS-04



Crew members Jack Fischer, a NASA astronaut, and Fyodor Yurchikhin, a Russian cosmonaut, will join NASA astronaut Peggy Whitson, European Space Agency astronaut Thomas Pesquet, and Russian cosmonaut Oleg Novitskiy.

Roscosmos is only sending two people inside the Soyuz instead of three. This was a result of a decision by the Russia to reduce the size of its station crew size from three per expedition to two in order to save money to launch a new module to the ISS – the decade-delayed Nauka science module.

The extra seat will afford already-in-space Whitson a three-month extension to her space stay. She will return to Earth with the Soyuz MS-04 crew in early September 2017, instead of early June, with Pesquet and Novitskiy in Soyuz MS-03.

Alternate Names

  • 42682
  • SoyuzMS04

Facts in Brief

Launch Date: 2017-04-20
Launch Vehicle: Soyuz FG
Launch Site: Tyuratam (Baikonur Cosmodrome), Kazakhstan

Funding Agencies

  • Russian Space Agency (Russia)
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration (United States)


  • Human Crew

Additional Information

Questions and comments about this spacecraft can be directed to: Coordinated Request and User Support Office

[] NASA Logo -