NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NASA Space Science Data Coordinated Archive Header

Soyuz MS 08



Soyuz MS-08 is the 137th flight of a crewed Soyuz vehicle and was the 63rd launch of the Soyuz-FG rocket since it entered service in 2001.

As is normal procedure with crew rotation flights to the ISS, Soyuz MS-08 will transport three new crewmembers up to the international outpost, this time carrying one Russian cosmonaut and two American astronauts. The three-member crew is an all veteran slate of spacefliers, with two of the crew having participated in one spaceflight and the third having participated in two.

The crew is led by Soyuz Commander and Roscosmos cosmonaut Oleg Artemyev, who is joined by two NASA astronauts: Dr. Andrew Feustel and Rick Arnold. As is tradition for Soyuz crew missions, the Soyuz Commander chose a call sign for the vehicle. For MS-08, Commander Artemyev chose the callsign “Hawaii”.

Soyuz-MS is to provide rescue of the main crew of the station in emergency and delivery of visiting crews; planned descent of the visiting crew onto the ground; returning to the ground, together with the crew, payloads of relatively low mass and volume and disposal of wastes from the station in the living compartment to be burned down in the atmosphere during descent.

Alternate Names

  • 43238
  • SoyuzMS08

Facts in Brief

Launch Date: 2018-03-21
Launch Vehicle: Soyuz FG
Launch Site: Tyuratam (Baikonur Cosmodrome), Kazakhstan

Funding Agencies

  • Russian Space Agency (Russia)
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration (United States)


  • Human Crew

Additional Information

Questions and comments about this spacecraft can be directed to: Coordinated Request and User Support Office

[] NASA Logo -