National Aeronautics and Space Administration
Lunar and Planetary Science

What's New in Lunar & Planetary Science

The CNSA (China) Chang'e 4 lunar farside mission launched successfully, at 2:23 a.m. Beijing time, December 8 (18:23 UT Dec. 7).

The OSIRIS-REx mission successfully arrived within about 20 km of asteroid Bennu at about 17:00 UT (12:00 noon EST) on 3 December. It has made its first flyby of the asteroid, 7 km above the north pole. More...

The NASA InSight mission landed on Mars in the Elysium Planitia region on 26 November at 19:52:59 UT (2:52:59 p.m. EST), returned its first image (with the transparent dust cover still on, as planned), and opened its solar panels. For more information, see the NASA Press Release.

NASA has announced that the landing site for the Mars 2020 Rover will be Jezero Crater, a geologically diverse terrain holding remains of an ancient lake bed and river delta. For more, see the NASA press release.

This Day in Planetary and Lunar Exploration History

1964
San Marco 1, Italian-built satellite, launched on NASA Scout booster by Italian team.
1965
Launch of Gemini 6A Earth orbiting mission carrying Walter Schirra and Tom Stafford.
1970
Venera 7 lands on Venus, becomes the first spacecraft to return data after landing on another planet.
1972
Apollo 17 LM ascent stage intentionally crashed on the Moon.
1984
Launch of Vega 1 Venus lander and Halley's comet flyby.
2013
Yutu rover of the Chang'e 3 mission rolls onto the lunar surface.

Flight Mission Information

Data Services

Related Information Services

Search for Mission Information

To search for information on any mission, enter the spacecraft name in the box below.

[USA.gov] NASA - nasa.gov